My grandmother’s cabbage recipe

MY GRANDMOTHER’S CABBAGE RECIPE – Marta Blaze

I skyped my grandmother a couple of years ago to ask about her famous cabbage recipe. I would cook a bit, then skype her in Poland, then cook a bit then call again for advice. It’s probably not as good as hers, not sure what she does, I guess Babcia Magic!  Now that she’s gone, I’m so glad I wrote this recipe down.  kapusta6.jpg

  • 1 cabbage – finely chopped, I used my food processor and pulsed
  • 1/2 cup of butter ( more if you want)
  • 1/2 onion – finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon of honey
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 tbsp. of flour and 2 tbsp. butter (optional)

Fill a large pot with cold water, add cabbage and bring to the boil, boil for 1 minute.

Drain all the water out. Return to stove, add butter, salt, pepper and onion and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes until tender. Stirring occasionally, you can add a bit of water if need be. Taste to see if tender. Add honey, and squirt a bit of lemon juice until taste is what you like.

 

Optional:   In small frying pan melt butter, add flour, create a paste that is bubbling a bit, and make sure to stir this constantly. Add to Cabbage and stir really well.

 

VOILA!

