Pumpkin cranberry muffins

Original Recipe from Balanced Bites

Mariela's notes:

I made these on Sunday and
haven't taken a picture of them nor was I able to take pictures of the process. It was pretty simple recipe to
follow and we know how much I like easy ;).
I looked far and wide for "fresh cranberries", okay  – I
just looked in my usual grocery store and gave up immediately after I couldn't
find them. I also opted out of the maple syrup and substituted a banana.
I added walnut pieces because I enjoy changing things up.
Confession, without that maple syrup/honey it's not the same, not the same.

The weight, density, pumpkin smell that filled my tiny condo – everything is on point. But, it was missing those fresh cranberries and a bit of the maple syrup sweetness. I'll try to do it again soon, since the recipe didn't call for the ENTIRE can of pumpkin puree and now I have so much leftover.


Ingredients

  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree (can be canned or fresh, if fresh, cook, cook
    and strain excess water from your pumpkin before using it in this
    recipe)
  • 1/2 cup butter or coconut oil, melted (I prefer butter for flavor but if you can’t eat it, use coconut oil – I like Tropical Traditions Green Label
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup honey or maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 Tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 cup fresh cranberries

preparation

  • Preheat oven to 350F.
  • Whisk the eggs, pumpkin, butter or coconut oil, pure vanilla
    extract, and maple syrup together in a large mixing bowl. Sift in the
    coconut flour, sea salt, baking soda, and pumpkin pie spice and stir
    until well combined. Gently fold in the cranberries.
  • In a muffin tin, scoop 1/4 cup of the batter into each lined muffin cup (natural parchment muffin papers work best for lining), and bake for 35-40 minutes.
