What does a nosey pepper do?

Gets jalapeño business!

HA! I’m here all night people. No, seriously – I ate so much at my Easter meal, I can no longer move from my couch.

What can these three things do for you? Make you the most anticipated guest of any party.

IMG_3825


Original recipe is from the Pioneer Woman

This recipe is VERY simple, the ingredients few….people will think you put some type of witchcraft sorcery spell in it because this appetizer is just cream cheese, bacon and jalapenos and are so delicious.

Rinse peppers, slice them in half. I like to keep the stem for decorative purposes.
Take the cream cheese out of the fridge about 10-15 minutes so it’s better to work with. If you don’t, that’s okay too.

IMG_3826

Heed my warning my beautiful people – if this is your first time ever handling jalapeno peppers, please wear gloves, even use little sandwich bags to keep a protective layer while you are handling these spicy beasts. We all have the same calluses and rough crossfit hands, even a bad hangnail can ruin this experience.

The last time I made these was for the Crossfit summer BBQ. It was my first time making this treat in a bigger batch and my ego clouded my judgement. Let’s just say I was waking up a couple times a night, dousing my hands in extra virgin olive oil and feeling the burn a few days after. Also take note, do NOT wash your face either. Lesson learned universe, lesson learned.

For this recipe I bought 14 jalapenos, which split in the middle are 28 bacon appetizers. Try and buy the more robust, chubby peppers, this way you can fill them more with cream cheese.  I just slice my bacon down the middle, used two packages of Philly cream cheese – I didn’t use BOTH of them completely,  but I’d rather have too much than run out of the cheese. I don’t use toothpicks either, the bacon slices are lengthy enough for me to wrap around the pepper.

IMG_3828

Pop them in oven for 30 minutes @ 375 degrees.

After they’ve cooled down, make sure to quality control sample one…or two or 4. I  mean you only want to show up with only the BEST!

IMG_3829

Enjoy!

