I like butt –

-ernut squash soup and I cannot lie!

I’m so hip, don’t deny it.

I usually make a pretty basic butternut squash soup, no fuss, not a lot of ingredients. This weekend I came across this recipe.   I thought, yeah, I could use a little spice in my life. Who knew that two little spices could make a great soup, to a –  I don’t want to share this with ANYONE  amazing soup!  Truth be told this recipe yields quiet a bit so you better love it to death.


Ingredients

  • 1 medium butternut squash  < — I used two little baby ones.
  • 1 box of vegetable stock (or chicken stock)  <– have a box handy, but don’t use the entire thing
  • olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon(s) cumin seeds
  • 2 teaspoon(s) dried chilli flakes
  • 3 tablespoon(s) milk <– I used coconut milk
  • teaspoon(s) sea salt
  • teaspoon(s) black pepper (freshly ground)

Cut that squash, drizzle the EVOO and sprinkle the spices. Stick it in the oven, let that squash roast until fork tender. I have no patience and it wasn’t fork tender, so I lost quite a bit of squash “meat” as my punishment.
After letting it cool, put the the squash in a fast blender or food processor as I did and add broth until smooth. Now, I also put more coconut milk than the recipe told me to, because you’re not the boss of me recipe! I also didn’t add the garlic and onions, because I’m lazy.
Put it in a pot and let it simmer, add salt and pepper to taste.
But wait – there’s more!On the side I grilled some hot italian sausages which I later added with mushrooms while it’s simmering. This makes it much heartier and filling.
Enjoy!
