Tired of your boring spinach salad?

Just kidding spinach – you’re not boring, it’s just sometimes I like to get kinky with it in the kitchen and try new things.

I’m not a chef by any means so after searching for the easiest recipe that didn’t required alot of ingredients I finally found one that would turn this:

 

Into a beautiful display of greenery that looks like this:

 

6a00e551c53fae8833017c371324a7970b-800wi6a00e551c53fae8833017c37131ff9970b-800wi

My apologies for my instagram filters – but don’t they remind you of fall?

KALE SALAD with AVOCADO and SWEET POTATO 

Ingredients:

♦ 2 bunches of kale
♦ 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into small cubes
♦ 4 cloves garlic, minced
♦ Olive oil
♦ 2 avocados, peeled and cut into small cubes
♦ dried cranberries
♦ Lemon juice
♦ Olive oil
♦ Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:
In a bowl, combine sweet potato with some olive oil, minced
garlic and sprinkle with sea salt. This is the day I realized how important a garlic press is in my life and how sad it is that I do not have one. Now my fingers smell like garlic, annoying but pleasurable at the same time. I spread the potatos onto a baking sheet and let that roast. I think I set the oven for 400 degrees for 30 minutes, but may have taken it out earlier. I was on the phone with my mother, trying to explain to her how to upload pictures into an email, so I forget how long I actually cooked it for. Totally knocked me out of my cooking zone.  Let it cool – prep your kale.

Rip your kale into small pieces after you’ve removed it from the large stems and wash it. Start squeezing the crap out your lemons – I like my salad tart, so I added a bit more lemon than the average bear. This is where the kinky part happens – you get to massage the kale with the lemon juice until it starts to get weak and wilty.

The original recipe called for sherry vinegar – but of course I didn’t have.  So I just vetoed it out.  Add olive oil, salt and pepper to taste.  Continue with the kink.

Add the sweet potatos, avocado, craisins and toss tenderly.

Boom. Enjoy!

 

