Awesome Pumpkin muffins

Pumpkin Muffins

 I modified this recipe from
my friend Caren’s book. I cut the sugar by about 70%. And added and changed
many other ingredients. I also changed the raisins to dates.  I hate raisins!  My kids love these muffins!  You could also add chopped walnuts or pecans,
but I tried to make them school friendly.

First bunch:

1 cup natural bran

1 cup whole wheat flour

¼ cup hemp seeds

¼ cup oatmeal

¼ cup brown sugar 

2 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp nutmeg

1.5 tsp baking powder

1.5 tsp baking soda

¾ tsp salt

1 cup chopped dates

Second bunch

1 small can of cooked
pumpkin

3 eggs unbeaten

¾ cup melted butter or
melted coconut butter.  I use a bit of
both

¾ buttermilk

 Preheat oven to 390 F.

In a bowl combine FIRST bunch.  Toss to mix.

Add Second bunch and stir until just combined.  The secret is to not over mix.

Use an ice cream scoop to put
batter into paper lined muffin tins. 
They will be quite full.

Bake for 20 – 25 until firm
to the touch.

Makes 12 muffins.

