Marta’s protein/granola bars

I hate most granola bars. I find them all too sweet or just tasting like cardboard. Yuk!

 So I took it upon myself to invent my own bar…. I thought if it tastes disgusting so be it.  Lo’ and behold… it tastes awesome!

 Here is the top secret recipe:

 Heat oven to 350

 In a stand up mixer or by hand mix:

2 cups oatmeal

1 cup almond flour

1 cup finely grated coconut

¼ flax meal

 Add:

¼ cup dates – chopped  (or whatever dried fruit you like. I’m going to tray blueberries next)

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon honey or agave nectar.  I prefer Honey as it has healthier properties.

2 eggs

nuts – I added chopped pecans, sunflower seeds, hemp seeds

¼ cup almond butter

¼ cup apple sauce  ( or more if the mixture is dry)

¼ cup grapeseed oil

 Mix this by hand. 

Line 2 8 by 8 dishes with parchment paper.

Divide equally and press down to create the bar

Bake for about 30 minutes. More or less depending on the oven.

 Take it out and let it sit for about 10 minutes.  Cut up into smaller pieces and cool on a rack. 

VOILA!

Calvin loves them. He calls them cupcakes

 

