Cauliflower is my friend

 I love cauliflower. Normally I would have it boiled and then sauté breadcrumbs in butter and pour on top. yummy.  

It has very little calories and is good for you. Now that I’m not eating any grains for the next little while I had to invent new ways of eating it.  So here it goes.

Cauliflower steaks:

I read a similar recipe in Bon Appetit, but I changed everything except for using Cauliflower.

 

ü Cut cauliflower into ¾ inch “steaks”. These may fall apart. No big deal!

ü Melt butter and olive oil in a large frying pan

ü Brown on both sides

ü Put on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper

ü Spread Cauliflower on cookie sheet.

ü I very thinly spread McMillan Orchards’ sundried tomato pesto on the cauliflower.

ü Bake until desired tenderness is reached at 375 – about 10 to 15 minutes.  You can also do 10 minutes at 400.

ü YUMMY! – I had them scrambled with eggs for breakfast, with chicken for lunch or just as a side for whatever protein you’re having.

 

