Eat right for your type

So Tom was doing some research the other day about the eat right for your type diet and we noticed interesting facts about ourselves.

According to Dr. Peter DÁdamo, author of Eat Right For Your Type, a chemical reaction occurs between your blood and the foods you eat. This reaction is part of your genetic inheritance. This reaction is caused by a factor called Lectins. Lectins, abundant and diverse proteins found in foods, have agglutinating properties that affect your blood. So when you eat a food containing protein lectins that are incompatible with your blood type antigen, the lectins target an organ or bodily system and begin to agglutinate blood cells in that area.

Tom is type O, I am type A. In what we're meant to eat, based on this way of eating we are polar opposites.

Tom has not been a fan of vegetables his whole life. Wheat makes him feel weird, but MEAT is his friend. He can pretty much live on a diet of meat.  I, on the other hand, stopped eating beef and pork when I was quite young because it grossed me out.  I love vegetables, grains, fish and some poultry.  Lo and behold, Type A blood people thrive on this kind of diet. they are not really into meat at all.

I love having another point of view other than the Zone and Paleo people.  these diets still advocate healthy eating but they tailor eating habits to you.  I'm happiest when I can have some brown rice, quinoa and buckwheat. I'm not meant to eat wheat, which is fine and only some dairy products.  I'm going to give this a shot with some paleo and Zone methodology thrown in…

Here is alittle bit of info on what I should eat, taken from Dr. Lam's site

"When Type As eat meat, they experience sluggishness. Type As have low stomach-acid content, therefore they have a hard time digesting meat. Since Type As eat very little animal protein, nuts and seeds supply an important protein component. Type As also thrive on the vegetable proteins found in beans. "

This is interesting as the zone would totally go against everything this says. I do feel like crap if I eat beef or pork though, so not shocking….

For more info check out these websites:

Type A diet

Dr. Lam Blood type diet

