my grandmother’s cabbage recipe

I skyped my grandmother yesterday to ask about her famous cabbage recipe. I would cook a bit, then skype her in Poland, then cook a bit then call again for advice.

It's probably not as good as hers, not sure what she does, I guess Babcia Magic!

1 cabbage – finely chopped, i used my food processor and pulsed

1/2 cup of butter ( more if you want)

1/2 onion – finely chopped

1 teaspoon of honey

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 a lemon

1 tbsp of flour  and 2 tbsp butter (optional)

Fill a large pot with cold water, add cabbage and bring to the boil, boil for 1 minute.

Drain all the water out.  return to stove, add butter, salt, pepper and onion and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes until tender. stirring occasionally.  You can add a bit of water if need be.

taste to see if tender.  Add honey, and squirt a bit of lemon juice until taste is what you like.  Optional:   In a small frying pan melt butter, add flour, create a paste that is bubbling a bit, make sure to stir this constantly. Add to Cabbage and stir really well.

VOILA!

