About Us

Marta is the owner and head coach of CrossFit and Pilates Pickering.

In 1991, when I moved to France, I stopped eating meat. I ate fish, but the thought of cooking meat disgusted me.  Until 1993, that’s the way it was. Then when I graduated from University, I decided to try Macrobiotics. That last about a year.  It was a revelation in nutrition!  I moved downtown with my friend Becky in 1994 and living downtown was hard on my macrobiotic ways.  Soon, pizza and wine took over and Macrobiotics went out the window!

I still did not eat any meat until I was Sailing in the Caribbean for 8 months.  When you’re in the Caribbean you eat what you can, otherwise you’re eating beans and rice all the time. I started eating chicken and turkey again.

Just recently when I was diagnosed with anemia, I started eating bacon, beef and lamb. I now even eat in Pork Ribs.  I can only eat meat when it’s been cooked for many hours, otherwise it still grosses me out.  I’ve read and studied much about nutrition over the years. I have organized many speaking engagements for holistic doctors and nutritionist. In 2000 I studied Herbalism, but decided not to write my exams as I did not want to be an Herbalist.  Pilates, then Crossfit followed and my fascination and passion for the body is still there!

I am a foodie. I love cooking, I love recipe books, I love the creativity of food.  If I had  a superpower, it would be cooking.

